Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

The Children of God

Heart Phoenix

John Phoenix

Rain Phoenix

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

Liberty Phoenix

Summer Phoenix

Dirk Drake

Caracas

Los Angeles

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Robert Kennedy and his Times

Florida

Jonathan Pryce

Dark Blood

Stand By Me

I Love You To Death

Sneakers

Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

Gus Van Sant

Drugstore Cowboy

Robert Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy

Robert Kennedy Jnr

Devo Nod

Flea

Vern Tessio

Jerry O'Connell

John Glatt

River Phoenix: The Biography

Arthur Rimbaud

Jacksonville Beach

Costa Rica

Aleka Dozy Encircles

Mardi Gras in Dublin

Malibu

Esquire Magazine

Westwood

Frances Beck

Earth Day Benefit

Wales
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

River Phoenix: The Biography

de John Glatt
Première édition 1995


ISBN 0-7499-1511-0 (couv. souple, 283 pages)

Débutant par une liste impressionnante de personnes rencontrées par l'auteur pour les besoins de cette biographie, ce livre entreprend une investigation profonde dans la vie de River.

En vingt-cinq chapitres aux titres impressionnants tels que «River prend feu», «Faire la fête avec l'Oscar» et «la Chute», l'auteur ne semble pas avoir de difficultés à explorer à fond les rumeurs les plus sombres qui couraient sur River. S'agit-il simplement de donner une image aussi complète que possible de l'acteur ou plutôt de s'efforcer de conserver l'attention du lecteur, il est difficile de le dire.

River est cité tout au long du livre grâce aux extraits de ses nombreuses interviews.

Le Jour de l'An 1990, River et un groupe d'amis regardent des extraits du film de Van Sant Drugstore Cowboy, fascinés par le portrait réaliste &fait agrave; l'écran des acteurs se shoutant à l'héroïne. Depuis son installation à Gainesville, River se rend souvent à Jacksonville Beach où l'attire la «culture» de la drogue. Il commence à s'interroger sur les effets de l'héroïne et il questionne les gens à ce sujet.

Selon un article d'Esquire d'avril 1994, quand l'occasion se présenta d'essayer l'héroïne, il était prêt. River Phoenix était prêt et voulait tout tenter. La seule question est : jusqu'où voulait-il aller ?

A ce jour, ce livre a connu deux éditions. «River Phoenix : The Biography» a été publié en 1995 et «Lost in Hollywood : The Fast Times and Short Life of River Phoenix» (Perdu dans Hollywood : la rapide et courte vie de River Phoenix) est sorti en avril 1996.

On ne peut être que préoccupé du nombre spectaculaire d'erreurs que comportent ces livres et dont nous donnons une sélection ci-dessous. Les lois statistiques font que la biographie la plus longue doit certainement contenir le plus grand nombre d'erreurs, mais beaucoup de ces inexactitudes auraient dû être remarquées lors de la relecture et n'auraient pas dû s'y glisser.

En dépit de ces erreurs, ce livre reste le volume le plus complet à ce jour pour quiconque désire, ainsi qu'il y est dit, «comprendre l'énigme de River Phoenix».


ISBN 0-3129-5782-3 (couverture souple)


ISBN 1-55611-440-0 (couverture souple)

Depuis la mort de son fils, John Phoenix reste dans sa retraite au Costa Rica, laissé seul à son chagrin. Ayant vu ses pires craintes se réaliser, John s'est replié sur lui-même. Des amis attentifs s'inquiètent de le voir subir de plein fouet l'impact de la mort de son fils bien-aimé

On peut dire que John Phoenix aura vu la saga familiale faire une boucle complète de vingt-cinq ans, certain que tout aurait été différent s'ils étaient sortis de la cocotte-minute d'Hollywood et s'ils avaient à nouveau gratté la guitare dans les rues de Westwood, fidèles à leur idéal et à leurs convictions.


Variations sur un Thème

Lieu de naissance :

Une masure en ruine.

Cause du décès :

Du Persian Brown, fortement dosé, donné à River par un ami musicien.

Assertion la plus audacieuse :

River subit des abus sexuels dès l'âge de quatre ans de
la part des membres de la secte religieuse des Enfants de Dieu.


Liste des Bourdes

Page 2
Une des erreurs les plus manifestes tout au long du livre commence avant même le premier chapitre : dès l'introduction, Joaquin, le jeune frère de River, est appelé Yoaquin.

 

Page 14
Le livre indique de manière incorrecte que la famille reçoit le nom de Phoenix de la secte des Enfants de Dieu au cours d'une cérémonie communautaire en 1972. L'erreur semble avoir échappé au correcteur même si plus tard le livre mentionne à nouveau le changement de nom, cette fois à la date correcte du 2 avril 1979.

 

Page 19
Le mystère du «nom-qui-change-tout-le-temps» continue. La page 19 mentionne la naissance du jeune frère de River qui semble s'appeller alors Toaquin...

 

Page 24
Le manque de considération de l'auteur pour Liberty Phoenix est désormais une évidence. Ayant raté la naissance de l'enfant à Caracas en 1976, il perd maintenant le compte des enfants Phoenix, qualifiant de manière incorrecte Summer Joy de quatrième enfant d'Arlyn Phoenix.

 

Page 30
Liberty est finalement mentionnée page 27 pour être de nouveau complètement oubliée trois pages plus loin. Le livre indique que «deux adultes, quatre jeunes enfants et le chien de la famille» font le long voyage de Floride à Hollywood en 1979. Sans doute la pauvre petite Liberty âgée de trois ans fut-elle remplacée par le chien et dut courir derrière la voiture. Ou bien elle prit le bus...

 

Page 87
Pour la première fois, l'auteur réussit enfin à donner le chiffre exact des membres de la famille quand celle-ci se réinstalle en Floride. River, Rain, Leaf, Liberty et Summer sont tous présents et à la bonne place. Cependant, s'agissant de l'âge des enfants, en supposant que l'auteur se situe à l'époque du déménagement, on constate qu'il manque une année à chaque enfant (on sait - on cherche des poux dans la tête...)

 

Page 92
L'auteur mentionne deux chansons de River en leur donnant un titre erroné. La première chanson d'Aleka's Attic, «Aleka Dozy Encircles», est appelé de manière peu flatteuse «Aleka Doozy Encircles». Cette chanson est évoquée à nouveau à la page 102 sans faute d'impression. De la même manière, la chanson que River écrivit pour Dirk Drake s'intitulait «Mardi Gras in Dublin» et non «Dublin in Mardi Gras».

 

Page 92
Le nom du précepteur de River, Dirk Drake, est mal orthographié en Dick Drake.

 

Page 100
Le livre indique que River et son précepteur Dirk Drake furent arrêtés pour ivresse sur la voie publique. L'événement dont il est question ici est la Journée de la Terre 1991 et c'est en fait Drake et un autre ami qui furent malchanceux, River lui-même s'arrangea pour s'échapper juste à temps.

 

Page 176
La maison de Flea où River séjourna pendant le tournage de Sneakers est située dans le quartier de Los Feliz, à Los Angeles, et non à Malibu.

 

Page 191
Le poète français Rimbaud mourut en 1891 et non en 1881 comme indiqué ici.

 

Page 219
Le mystère du «nom-qui-change-tout-le-temps» s'achève ici. Bien qu'il établisse correctement que le jeune frère de River ne se faisait plus appeler Leaf à cette époque, l'auteur se trompe en l'appelant Yoaquin.

 

Page 221
Ne jamais, jamais dire de quelqu'un originaire du Pays de Galles qu'il est «Anglais», ainsi qu'il est dit ici au sujet de la vedette de Dark Blood, Jonathan Pryce. Là-bas, ils sont très susceptibles sur ces choses-là

 

Page 257
Le film Even Cowgirls Get The Blues (Même les cowgirls ont du vague à l'âme) s'appelle ici Even Cowgirls Sing The Blues (Même les cowgirls chantent le blues).

 

Page 260
Le rôle de River dans le téléfilm Robert Kennedy and His Times n'est pas celui de «Robert Kennedy enfant» comme indiqué. En fait, River joue le rôle du fils de Kennedy, Robert Kennedy Junior.

 

Page 261
Le nom du personnage joué par Jerry O'Connell dans Stand By Me, Vern Tessio, manque dans les noms indiqués à cette page.

 

Page 262
Le nom du personnage de River dans I Love You To Death est mal orthographié en «Devo Wod».

 

Page 277
Bien qu'il soit correct dans le texte, le nom de la grand-tante de River, Frances Beck, est écrit incorrectement dans l'index.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

The Children of God

Heart Phoenix

John Phoenix

Rain Phoenix

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

Liberty Phoenix

Summer Phoenix

Dirk Drake

Caracas

Los Angeles

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Robert Kennedy and his Times

Florida

Jonathan Pryce

Dark Blood

Stand By Me

I Love You To Death

Sneakers

Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

Gus Van Sant

Drugstore Cowboy

Robert Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy

Robert Kennedy Jnr

Devo Nod

Flea

Vern Tessio

Jerry O'Connell

John Glatt

River Phoenix: The Biography

Arthur Rimbaud

Jacksonville Beach

Costa Rica

Aleka Dozy Encircles

Mardi Gras in Dublin

Malibu

Esquire Magazine

Westwood

Frances Beck

Earth Day Benefit

Wales
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

River Phoenix: The Biography

by John Glatt.
First published in 1995.


ISBN 0-7499-1511-0 (Paperback, 283 Pages)

Beginning with an impressive list of people that the author interviewed whilst researching this biography, the book then initiates its' thorough investigation into River's life.

Over twenty five chapters with impressive names such as "River Catches Fire", "Partying With Oscar" and "Goin' Down" the author seems to have no difficulty exploring at great length the more darker rumors associated with River. Whether this is simply to provide as complete a picture of the actor as possible or is merely an effort to keep the readers attention is difficult to tell.

River is quoted throughout the book in the form of extracts from the many interviews that he gave.

On New Year's Day, 1990, River and a group of friends watched a rough cut of Van Sant's film Drugstore Cowboy, fascinated by the realistic on-screen portrayals of the actors shooting heroin, "spiking." Since moving to Gainesville, River had often visited Jacksonville Beach and had been beguiled by its drug culture. He was beginning to wonder about what it would be like to take heroin and began questioning people about it.

According to Esquire, in an April, 1994 piece, when the opportunity to try heroin presented itself he was ready. River Phoenix was ready and willing to experience everything. The only question: how far would he go?

To date, this book has been published twice. "River Phoenix: The Biography" was published in 1995 and "Lost in Hollywood: The Fast Times and Short Life of River Phoenix" was released in April 1996.

Of great concern is the spectacular number of errors to be found with these books, a selection of which we have highlighted below. The laws of averages surely dictates that the largest biography should contain the most errors but a number of these inaccuracies should have been spotted at the proof-reading stage and should have not been allowed to slip though.

Despite these errors, this book remains the most comprehensive volume to date for anyone wishing to, as the book says, "understand the enigma of River Phoenix".


ISBN 0-3129-5782-3 (Paperback)


ISBN 1-55611-440-0 (Paperback)

Since his son's death John Phoenix has stayed in his Costa Rica hideaway to grieve alone. Having seen his worst fears realized, John withdrew into himself. Concerned friends worried for him as he felt the full impact of his beloved son's death descend upon him.

John Phoenix, one might say, has seen his family's twenty-five-year-old saga come full circle, confiding that it might even be best if the family got out of the pressure-cooker of Hollywood and once again were innocently panhandling on the streets of Westwood, true to their ideals and beliefs.


Variations on a Theme

Place of Birth:

A rundown shack.

Cause of Death:

A high-grade Persian Brown given to River by a musician friend.

Boldest Claim:

River suffered repeated sexual abuse from the age of four by members of the religious cult The Children of God.


Blunder List

Page 2
One of the biggest inconsistencies throughout the entire book begins here even before Chapter One. River's younger brother Joaquin is referred to as Yoaquin in the Prologue.

 

Page 14
The book incorrectly states that the family was given the name Phoenix by The Children of God cult in a commune ceremony in 1972. This error appears to have slipped through even though later on the book mentions the name change again, this time listing the correct date - 2 April 1979.

 

Page 19
The mystery of the ever-changing name continues. Page 19 mentions the birth of River's younger brother who at this point is called Toaquin it seems....

 

Page 24
The author's complete disregard for Liberty Phoenix is by now well underway. Having failed to mention the child's birth in Caracas in 1976, the author now loses count of the Phoenix children, incorrectly identifying Summer Joy as Arlyn Phoenix's fourth child.

 

Page 30
Liberty finally gets a mention on page 27 only to be completely forgotten about again three pages later. The book states that "two adults, four young children and the family dog" made the long journey from Florida to Hollywood in 1979. Obviously, poor little three-year-old Liberty lost out to the dog and had to run along behind the car or was made to take the bus....

 

Page 38
During the filming of Seven Brides For Seven Brothers, the book states that "the six-strong Phoenix family lived in a motor home". It would appear Liberty lost out to the dog again - she must have got the kennel....

 

Page 87
For the first time, the author finally manages a full head count when the family relocates to Florida. River, Rain, Leaf, Liberty and Summer are all present and correct. However, when listing the ages of each child in turn, assuming the author is referring to the time of the move, the ages of all the children are out by one year. (We know - pick, pick, pick....)

 

Page 92
The author mentions two of River's songs here and gets the titles of both pieces wrong. Aleka's Attic's first song, "Aleka Dozy Encircles", is referred to here rather unflatteringly as, "Aleka Doozy Encircles". This song is referred to again later on in the book on page 102, with the correct spelling. Also, the song River wrote for Dirk Drake was called "Mardi Gras in Dublin", not "Dublin in Mardi Gras".

 

Page 92
The name of River's tutor Dirk Drake is spelt incorrectly as Dick Drake.

 

Page 100
The book states that River and his tutor, Dirk Drake, were arrested for drinking in public. The event referred to here was the Earth Day '91 Benefit and it was in fact Drake and another friend who were unlucky, River himself managed to escape just in time.

 

Page 176
Flea's home, where River stayed during the filming of Sneakers, is located in the Los Feliz area of Los Angeles, not Malibu.

 

Page 191
The French poet Rimbaud died in 1891, not 1881 as stated here.

 

Page 219
The mystery of the ever-changing name concludes here. Although correctly identifying that at this point River's younger brother was no longer referred to as Leaf, the author again incorrectly lists him as Yoaquin.

 

Page 221
Tip: Never, ever, ever, describe someone from Wales as "English" as happens to Dark Blood star Jonathan Pryce on this page. They're very touchy about things like that over there....

 

Page 257
The movie Even Cowgirls Get The Blues is referred to here as Even Cowgirls Sing The Blues.

 

Page 260
River's part in the tv-movie Robert Kennedy and His Times is incorrectly listed as "Played Robert Kennedy as a boy". River actually played the part of Kennedy's son, Robert Kennedy Jnr.

 

Page 261
The name of the character played by Jerry O'Connell in Stand By Me, Vern Tessio, is "missing" from the movie's credits that are listed on this page.

 

Page 262
River's character in I Love You To Death is incorrectly spelt as "Devo Wod".

 

Page 277
Whilst spelt correctly throughout the main text of the book, the name of River's great-aunt Frances Beck is spelt incorrectly in the book's index.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining these titles.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page