Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

The Children of God

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

Los Angeles

Oregon

Viper Room

Chris Chambers

James Dean

Mike Waters

Jeff Grant

Danny Pope

Madras

Leonardo DiCaprio

The New Biographical Dictionary of Film

David Thomson

The Muppets

Jim Henson

Angelina Jolie

Catherine Zeta Jones

Haley Joel Osment

Jim Carroll

The Basketball Diaries
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

The New Biographical Dictionary of Film
Fourth Edition

Le Nouveau Dictionnaire des Biographies du Cinéma
Quatrième Edition

de David Thomson
Première édition 1975


ISBN 0-316-85905-2 (broché, 970 pages)

Cette collection de mini biographies en est à sa quatrième édition et constitue un Who's who des innombrables personnalités du cinéma au cours des âges. Datant de 1975, ce dictionnaire qui se prénte lui-même comme une référence a été à nouveau mis à jour pour inclure de nouvelles entrées, depuis ceux qui se cachent derrière la caméra comme Jim Henson, le créateur des Muppets, jusqu'à des figures plus récentes comme Angelina Jolie et Catherine Zeta-Jones ou des jeunes acteurs tels que Haley Joel Osment.

River Phoenix (1970-93) né à Madras, Oregon
De ses débuts classiques comme enfant de hippies ayant quitté la secte des Enfants de Dieu pour finir à Hollywood, à son décès abrupt sur le trottoir devant le Viper Room à Los Angeles, River Phoenix est plus facile à accepter en tant que personnage (du téléfilm de la semaine) plutôt que comme personne réelle. A toutes les étapes de sa courte vie, la rumeur et les attachés de presse ont pris la place des faits réels. Pour tout homme célèbre aussi jeune, il y a peu de raisons de se tourner vers la réalité comme point de référence.

A l'occasion, River est mentionné en d'autres endroits du livre qui présente environ un millier d'entrées au total. Dans la section consacrée à Leonardo DiCaprio par exemple, on évoque le rôle de Jim Carroll dans The Basketball Diaries qui devait être joué à l'origine par River. Mais c'est dans la section sur River que l'auteur soulève sa théorie la plus intéressante et la plus provocante.


ISBN 0-375-41128-3 (broché, 976 pages)

Il était acteur et musicien et, même avant sa mort, il était devenu l'idole de sa génération. Etait-il pour autant un bon acteur qui promettait ? C'est évident. Mais mettez son oeuvre en regard des trois films de James Dean et vous pourrez appréciez la différence entre la perte d'un mythe et l'accident d'une célébrité.

La grande admiration de l'auteur pour James Dean n'est pas étonnante car elle s'est déjà manifestée dans le livre par une page complète consacrée à sa carrière. L'auteur nous rappelle son plaisir lors de ses premières projections des films de Dean et il évoque avec sympathie son oeuvre et sa carrière cinématographique.

Mais la comparaison si péremptoire entre James Dean et River Phoenix ne sert aucun des deux acteurs. Divisant de manière prévisible les fans des deux camps, elle mérite toutefois un examen plus approfondi. L'image désormais iconique d'adolescent rebelle des années 50 de James Dean est devenue inséparable de la légende du cinéma, ce dont ne peut s'approcher l'image de Jeff Grant par exemple. Inversement, la carrière de Dean, tristement abrégée comme elle le fut, ne lui permit pas de jouer des personnages aussi divers et variés que ceux de Chris Chambers, Danny Pope ou Mike Waters. En réalité, on ne peut tout simplement pas comparer James Dean et River Phoenix.

L'auteur ne semble attacher d'importance à aucun de ces arguments et, sans se donner le temps d'y réfléchir comme il le fait pourtant pour d'autres acteurs, il donne la longue liste des films de River. Joaquin Phoenix est brièvement mentionné à la fin de l'article sur River, étant décrit comme quelqu'un qui «promet encore de s'améliorer» mais qui apparemment ne mérite pas encore d'avoir une entrée à son nom.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

The Children of God

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

Los Angeles

Oregon

Viper Room

Chris Chambers

James Dean

Mike Waters

Jeff Grant

Danny Pope

Madras

Leonardo DiCaprio

The New Biographical Dictionary of Film

David Thomson

The Muppets

Jim Henson

Angelina Jolie

Catherine Zeta Jones

Haley Joel Osment

Jim Carroll

The Basketball Diaries
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

The New Biographical Dictionary of Film
Fourth Edition

by David Thomson
First published in 1975


ISBN 0-316-85905-2 (Hardback, 970 Pages)

Presently in its fourth edition, this collection of mini-biographies provides a useful "who's who" reference to the countless performers of the movie industry over the years. First printed in 1975, this self-proclaimed reference dictionary has now been updated again to include everyone from off-screen performers like Muppets creator Jim Henson, through to more contemporary figures such as Angelina Jolie and Catherine Zeta Jones, as well as up-and-coming performers like Haley Joel Osment.

River Phoenix (1970-93) b. Madras, Oregon
From his classic beginnings as the child of hippies who had moved from a cult, the Children of God, to getting on in Hollywood, to his abrupt death on the sidewalk outside the Viper Room in Los Angeles, River Phoenix is easier to accept as a character (in a TV movie of the week) than as an actual person. Yet at all stages of his short life, rumor and PR get in the way of the real facts. For anyone that famous that early, there is so little point in turning to reality as a point of saving reference.

River is mentioned on occasion at other points in the book which features a thousand or so profiles in total. During the section on Leonardo DiCaprio, for example, the author talks about River being originally cast to play DiCaprio's role of Jim Carroll in The Basketball Diaries. It's during the section about River though, that the author goes on to raise the most interesting and provocative of all the points he raises.


ISBN 0-375-41128-3 (Hardback, 976 Pages)

He was a rock musician as well as an actor, and even before his death he had become an icon to a generation. Was he promising, or good? Yes. But put his work next to Dean's three films, and you can feel the difference between the loss of a myth and a celebrity accident.

The author's deep-rooted admiration for James Dean comes as no great shock having already been firmly established earlier in the book with an entire page given over to his career. The author fondly recalls seeing Dean's movies for the first time as well as discussing his achievements before his movie career.

But to compare James Dean and River Phoenix so curtly provides something of a disservice to both performers. Such a comparison, while predictably dividing fans, deserves a much closer examination. The now iconic image of Dean as the rebellious 1950's teenager has become part of movie-industry lore, and something that a picture of Jeff Grant, for example, is unlikely to ever re-create with the same accomplishment. Likewise, Dean's career, sadly curtailed as it was, precluded him from a career portraying such diverse and varied characters stretching from the likes of Chris Chambers and Danny Pope through to Mike Waters. Truly, one can no easily compare James Dean with River Phoenix than one can proverbially compare apples and oranges.

None of these issues seems to matter to the author who without pause for any reflection given in such large measure to other performers, quickly goes on to list River's lengthy film credits. Joaquin Phoenix is briefly mentioned at the end of the section about River, described by the author as someone who "promises to be better still," but does not apparently yet deserve a section of his own.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this item.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page