Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Stand By Me

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Gus Van Sant

Scott Favor

Keanu Reeves

Italy

Idaho

William Shakespeare

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (Movie)

Orson Welles

Henry IV

Chimes at Midnight

Le Voyage Dans La Lune

Chicago (Movie)

1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die

Steven Jay Schneider

The Breakfast Club

The Fly
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die

1001 Films à Voir Avant de Mourir

de Steven Jay Schneider
Première édition 2003


ISBN 1-84403-044-X (poche, 960 pages)

Présenté par ordre chronologique, commençant en 1902 avec le film Le Voyage dans la Lune pour finir par la comédie musicale Chicago en 2002, ce livre fort épais est une collection toute en couleur de ce qui constitue néanmoins une compilation de films plutôt étrange.

La version filmée de 1954 de Seven Brides for Seven Brothers est présentée comme un des « films à voir avant de mourir » mais la description qui en est faite stigmatise « un film profondément sexiste sur des fantasmes de viol patriarcaux. »

La période qui s'étend de 1983 à 1993 fait remarquablement peu référence à la carrière de River. De fait, alors qu'il semble y avoir dans ce livre à la reliure épaisse toute la place qu'il faut pour des films comme Breakfast Club en 1985 et le remake de La Mouche en 1986, on ne trouve que deux films de River.

L'article sur Stand By Me est sans relief et sans illustration alors que l'autre film de River cité par cet ouvrage est présenté de façon beaucoup plus vivante.

Le choix dans les principaux rôles des deux jeunes séducteurs Keanu Reeves (dans ce qui est peut-être son meilleur rôle à ce jour) et River Phoenix (qui devait mourir tragiquement d'une overdose à l'âge de 23 ans, au sommet d'une brillante carrière) n'a certainement pas nui aux espoirs commerciaux de My Own Private Idaho. Mais l'accent mis sur le vagabondage, l'homosexualité et la prostitution des jeunes, la mise au premier plan d'un protagoniste qui souffre de narcolepsie et qui idéalise le souvenir d'une mère qui l'a abandonné tout jeune, le long hommage à l'adaptation d'Orson Welles du Henry IV de Shakespeare, Chimes at Midnight (1965), en passant par une utilisation anachronique mais voulue du langage shakespearien dans plusieurs scènes clés, tout cela est la preuve que Gus Van Sant était prêt à prendre le risque de s'aliéner - et même d'affronter - les spectateurs américains moyens qui ne se doutaient de rien.

En Mike, vous avez ce que vous voyez : un gentil garçon, calme et rêveur, amoureux de son meilleur ami, qui s'endort sans prévenir - souvent dans les moments les moins opportuns, une situation dont Van Sant tire à la fois humour et pathos - et qui est obsédé par la recherche de sa maman perdue depuis longtemps. C'est cette obsession qui fournit l'élan nécessaire à cette histoire de voyage et d'errance (jamais trop lente cependant) où Scott accompagne son copain en danger permanent, de l'Idaho à l'Italie, à la recherche du mythe de l'amour maternel que le spectateur voit comme un extrait du film d'amateur rayé qu'est l'esprit de Mike.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Stand By Me

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Gus Van Sant

Scott Favor

Keanu Reeves

Italy

Idaho

William Shakespeare

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (Movie)

Orson Welles

Henry IV

Chimes at Midnight

Le Voyage Dans La Lune

Chicago (Movie)

1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die

Steven Jay Schneider

The Breakfast Club

The Fly
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die

by Steven Jay Schneider
First published in 2003


ISBN 1-84403-044-X (Paperback, 960 Pages)

Presented in chronological order, starting with the 1902 film Le Voyage dans la Lune, through to 2002's musical movie Chicago, this thick book is a colorful collection of what is nevertheless a very strange collection of movies indeed.

The 1954 film version of Seven Brides for Seven Brothers is discussed here as being one of the "must see before you die" films, but the description then immediately goes on to berate the movie as a "profoundly sexist film about patriarchal rape fantasies."

The period from 1983 to 1993 is remarkably bereft of examples from River's career. Indeed, while there seems to be plenty of space in this thickly bound book for movies such as 1985's The Breakfast Club and the 1986 remake of The Fly, only a couple of River's movies are present.

The two-paragraph entry for Stand By Me is plain and unillustrated, whereas the only other film to be included in this book that River appeared in is presented much more vividly.

The casting of teen heartthrobs Keanu Reeves (in what may be his finest performance to date) and River Phoenix (who would die tragically of a drug overdose at the age of 23, right on the cusp of a brilliant career) as the leads certainly didn't hurt My Own Private Idaho's commercial prospects. But in explicitly thematizing homelessness, homosexuality, and teenage prostitution; by offering up a protagonist who suffers from narcolepsy and romanticized memories of a mother who abandoned him as a child; in paying extended homage to Orson Welle's adaptation of Shakespeare's Henry IV plays, Chimes at Midnight (1965), via a self-consciously anachronistic use of bardspeak in several key scenes, no one can claim that Van Sant was unwilling to risk alienating - even incurring the wrath of - unsuspecting middle-American audiences.

With Mike, what you see is definitely what you get: A quiet dreamy, gentle boy who is in love with his best friend, falls asleep at the drop of a hat - frequently at inopportune moments, a trait the director taps for both humor and pathos - and is obsessed with finding his long-lost mom. It is the latter quality that provides the impetus for the film's rambling (but never slow) road trip of a plot, as Scott accompanies his always-endangered buddy on excursions ranging from Idaho to Italy in search of a myth of maternal love that the audience sees as the scratchy home-video footage of Mike's mind.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this item.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page